S50 Aircon condenser busted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• S50 Aircon condenser busted

Had aircon re-gas today on the a car I've just bought, came hissing back out in front or behind of radiator! Charged me a tenner too! I'm totally new to this car so can anyone tell me how difficult is would be to do this job myself or what a garage could charge? I presume it's the condenser radiator? Any choice of brand I should go for?

Cheers Paul

I've just done mine today (again, for the 3rd time owning the car!!). I'm never sure what causes the leak, but a new radiator(condensor) seems to fix it, so maybe they keep rubbing or rusting or somehting on mine.

It's not too bad to replace; fit it from the top, I think some guides tell you it drops out the bottom, but it doesn't due to the brackets that sit on top of the chassis rails (maybe these come out I'm not sure).

This is the condensor I got;

http://www.adrad.co.uk/prices/prices.php?search=16-9680

Pretty sure it's BEHR / HELLA brand.

Removal;

Above;
    -Remove viscous fan and cowling
    - Unclip the two radiator brackets on the slam panel (I would tell you how, but everytime I see them I forget how to and kind of bend them up to release the top of the radiator). You're not disconnecting the radiator hoses, just moving it backwards out of the way.
    - Undo 4 screws/bolts that bolt the radiaitor fan cowl to the condensor
    -Undo 2x 10mm bolts that secure the condenser to the slam panel.

Underneath;
    - Undo the lower trays x3 (awful design the way these pieces go together IMO). So thats the main lower cover, the oil cooler channel front and back pieces.
    - Undo 2 allen key bolts that hole the aircon pips to the base of the condensor

With the condensor pipes undone and working from the top, you should be able to wiggle the radiator out of its lower mounts (it just sits on rubber feet so slots back in later), to give enough room to lift the condensor up and out of the car.