Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Alloy wheel upgrade - good options anyone?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alloy wheel upgrade - good options anyone?

Starting to think about giving my car a festive treat.

I'm getting a fraction bored of my M coupe original alloys, especially the rears how they sit just slightly too far under the arches, makes the rear arches look a bit baggy don't you think?

Seen some wheel options on other MC's and wondered if anyone could advise me on wheel and tyre packages, what to avoid, spacers? what's too big? nasty tales? Any thoughts welcome.

My number one idea at the moment is to go for some CSL copies, purely on aesthetics alone, no idea what the drive is like or if they're a bugger to fit etc.. I'm no mechanic. looking to get a pro to fit a balance them etc.

I've just seen some Hartge alloys on a black MC recently posted on pistonheads classifieds. Beautiful.

So any pics and tales of wheel wonder welcome

:)

cheap fix is to put some wheel spacers on all round

Comment

Originally posted by Mcoupe heaven View Post
      My number one idea at the moment is to go for some CSL copies, purely on aesthetics alone,
      These might fit the bill for you:

Shunt
      Ex Z3MC 2000
      Ex Z4MC 2007
      Aston V8V
      M135i

Comment

Originally posted by Mcoupe heaven View Post
        Starting to think about giving my car a festive treat.

I'm getting a fraction bored of my M coupe original alloys, especially the rears how they sit just slightly too far under the arches, makes the rear arches look a bit baggy don't you think?

I agree, the car could do with wider tracks all round. 10mm is nice at the rear and almost brings them flush. Doesn't sound like much but it makes all the difference IMO. Currently my fronts look a bit sorry sunk into the arches in comparison (made worse by swapping the top mounts for extra negative camber which makes the top lean in more).