Oil...Which is best ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil...Which is best ?

Sorry - I suspect this will have been covered many times before, but the 'search' function gave no results.

What I oil should I be running for a mix of road and track use in the UK on a 82k miles S50 car ?

Picking it up from Brystone on Saturday and they have filled with 5w-30. Whilst the knowledge and service has been superb from Richard, i just wanted to check the oil spec. He said 60 grade oil is too thick for th S50 ?

Others have said 5w-60 M Power Edge should be used at all times, and I'm not an oil expert, but this is a long way from 5w-30 ?

Any advice appreciated.

Thks
    Matt

I have used 10/60 for my S50 for several years as recommended by my local dealer and Indie.

more info here

http://www.z3mcoupe.com/forum/showth...t=castrol+edge

Comment

And conversely, both the M-trained techs at my local indy advise against using 10/60 in the S50, stating that it's too thick. Reading through the threads on here though, I know plenty have used it in the S50 without issue.
      Last edited by Fat Tony; 05-04-2012, 04:06 PM.
      Not actually in the least bit fat

2000 S50 Titanium Silver / Black
      ACS Suspension, Exhaust & Type III Wheels
      Simota carbon air intake | Strong Strut Front Brace

Comment

Ok - Thanks both

Tony - what do your guys put in ??

Seems other than 10/60, the other option is 5 or 10/40.
        Can't find anyone suggesting 5W/30....

Matt

Comment

i used the 5/40 silkolene pro s i think
          name might have changed now though!

Click here to email me

Comment

We use Valvoline VR1 5w50...

Great oil of most road/motorsport applications..

Comment

Castrol website recommends EDGE 5-40?

Comment

I'm sure Richard would expand on the reasons for his recommendation.

He's looked after my car for the last few years and I rate him highly.

Ian