Z3MCoupe.com Forums

Go Back   Z3MCoupe.com Forums > M Coupé Technical > Technical Discussion
HOME Gallery Register Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31-10-2017, 11:24 AM
Knightrider Knightrider is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 266
Default Stereo upgrade/replacement

After a bit of consideration of selling up, I have decided to keep the coupe and use it a bit more. To increase practicality I want to replace/upgrade the head unit to allow:

1) Bluetooth calling
2) Bluetooth audio streaming for Spotify/Tune-in
3) DAB (although not essential as I could stream internet radio)

As far as I can see, there are 2 options:

1) Replace the headunit. Might improve sound quality a bit, but will look less OEM and more like a halfords display unit...

2) Add an AUX in, and connect something like a Pure Highway 600. Keeps existing headunit, but I am struggling to find an AUX adaptor to fit. There is a DIY to take over the Tape inputs that might work, but reports on sound quality are varied.

Any thoughts? What are others using?
__________________
'99 Imola S50 | Simota | Front strut | Braided clutch cable | Bilstein B8 and H&R springs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-10-2017, 12:13 PM
Seca Blue's Avatar
Seca Blue Seca Blue is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 1,695
Send a message via MSN to Seca Blue
Default

All I can say is that I replaced my headunit with a half decent Alpine some years ago, but without changing the speakers you're tied into shocking quality imo.

The stereo in my 1.0 Corsa sound better and that's OEM.
__________________
S54 Seca Blue - ACS Short shift and Exhaust. Luverly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-12-2017, 10:53 PM
Grumpy_Smurf Grumpy_Smurf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

I second that thought - the stock speakers are abysmal. Replacing the head unit will get you what you're after though. You can always go back and tackle the speakers/amps. I'm halfway down that path now, having replaced the head unit but still working on the wiring in the back. You need a lot of patience for that part - taking apart the "wall" behind the seats is ridiculous.
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.ph...0914175812.jpg
__________________
2000 Imola over Imola

Last edited by Grumpy_Smurf; 23-12-2017 at 11:22 PM. Reason: 1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-12-2017, 09:36 AM
Dave P's Avatar
Dave P Dave P is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 22,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy_Smurf View Post
I second that thought - the stock speakers are abysmal. Replacing the head unit will get you what you're after though. You can always go back and tackle the speakers/amps. I'm halfway down that path now, having replaced the head unit but still working on the wiring in the back. You need a lot of patience for that part - taking apart the "wall" behind the seats is ridiculous.
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?

id=75640520170914175812.jpg

If your coupe is still apart can you tell me where the boot cd changer gets its 12v power from (if fitted)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-12-2017, 06:49 PM
Grumpy_Smurf Grumpy_Smurf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry Dave mine didn't have a cd changer. It is still apart though, but I'm not sure when I'll get back to it. This weekend isn't supposed to be much above freezing so it will be awhile if there's anything I can get for you. I do remember a loose connector that I'm sure went to it - I should be able to probe them for power.
__________________
2000 Imola over Imola
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2018, 06:55 AM
Knightrider Knightrider is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Just coming back to this as I am finally getting round to it...

There is a suggestion on one of the Z3 forums that if you replace the stock h/u in a HK car that the sub stops working? As far as I can see the sub is powered from the HK amp using the rear speaker outputs from the head unit, so I can't see why this would be the case? Can anyone that has replaced their head unit confirm?

Also, has anyone replaced their roof aerial with a DAB compatible one? I am not much of a fan of the windscreen glass-mounted aerials, and was thinking of something like:

http://www.dabonwheels.co.uk/Kinetic...ar_aerial.html

I am presuming you have to get under the headlining to remove the old aerial, then route new cabling. Might be a PITA....
__________________
'99 Imola S50 | Simota | Front strut | Braided clutch cable | Bilstein B8 and H&R springs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2018, 07:45 AM
petecossie's Avatar
petecossie petecossie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Teesside
Posts: 884
Default

Yes I have fitted a DAB aerial on my car, well the audio fitter did it. He had to drop the roof lining to do it. I’ll look the details up on what aerial I purchased, I’m sure I used Dabonwheels also.
__________________
Pete C

2000 Z3M Coupe - Cosmos black/black interior.

Previous BMWs

2003 E46 M3 6 speed manual - Carbon Black/black
interior.
2000 Z3M Coupe - Cosmos Black/black interior
1986 M635
1985 E28 M5
1983 E28 528i Alpina

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2018, 07:46 AM
c_w's Avatar
c_w c_w is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 8,325
Default

Mine is HK and works very well; just replaced the headunit using a standard ISO connector and all is ok. I did try an ISO+HK connector (extra wires to use pre-outs) but I didn't like the volume adjustment; had to turn it nearly full for music to get louder. With the standard ISO connector volume is louder per volume display on the headunit. No difference in sound quality and also means you don't need to squash a load of extra wires in the dash.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2018, 07:53 AM
Knightrider Knightrider is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_w View Post
Mine is HK and works very well; just replaced the headunit using a standard ISO connector and all is ok. I did try an ISO+HK connector (extra wires to use pre-outs) but I didn't like the volume adjustment; had to turn it nearly full for music to get louder. With the standard ISO connector volume is louder per volume display on the headunit. No difference in sound quality and also means you don't need to squash a load of extra wires in the dash.
Thanks - I will give this a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by petecossie View Post
Yes I have fitted a DAB aerial on my car, well the audio fitter did it. He had to drop the roof lining to do it. I’ll look the details up on what aerial I purchased, I’m sure I used Dabonwheels also.
I don't suppose you know know which way he routed the aerial cables?
__________________
'99 Imola S50 | Simota | Front strut | Braided clutch cable | Bilstein B8 and H&R springs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2018, 09:51 AM
petecossie's Avatar
petecossie petecossie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Teesside
Posts: 884
Default

Looking at my invoice it was a Kinetic DRA-6003 DAB/FM/AM bundle - £48 back in 2013. It I recall its a powered aerial so there is a feed for that to install.

From what I can remember as the guy worked so fast, when I went out to look after 35mins he had roof lining down, the nearside trim from the A pillar off (must have run aerial wires behind it), glove box out and wires all over the place. He must have seen the look of horror on my face, "Don't worry it all goes back, this why I don't like customers to watch me!!"
Went back 30mins to see if he wanted a cuppa, "No thanks I'm finished"

The same guy has just finished a install on my son-in-laws car a Porsche Cayman, he did a great job on that as well.
__________________
Pete C

2000 Z3M Coupe - Cosmos black/black interior.

Previous BMWs

2003 E46 M3 6 speed manual - Carbon Black/black
interior.
2000 Z3M Coupe - Cosmos Black/black interior
1986 M635
1985 E28 M5
1983 E28 528i Alpina


Last edited by petecossie; 12-02-2018 at 09:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.